Insurance Plus Home Page Auto Insurance Boat Insurance RV Insurance Motorcycle Insurance Home Insurance Mobile Home Insurance Commercial Insurance Life Insurance Watercraft & Boat Insurance Motorcycle Insurance Recreational Vehicle Insurance Auto Insurance Watercraft & Boat Insurance Motorcycle Insurance Click Here to Call Now! Health Insurance Insurance Plus Home Page Watercraft & Boat Insurance Watercraft & Boat Insurance Watercraft & Boat Insurance Auto Insurance link Auto Insurance Motorcycle Insurance Motorcycle Insurance Recreational Vehicle Insurance Recreational Vehicle Insurance Motorcycle Insurance Homeowners Insurance Mobile Home Quote Business & Commercial Insurance Life Insurance Health Insurance CLICK TO CALL Insurance Plus Agencies Home Page Para EspanolHome PageAutoAutoBoatBoatRVMotorcycleMotorcycleHomeHomeMobile HomeCommercialCommercialLifeHealthHealthClick to Call Now!

Call toll free 866-466-1699 Now or Click Here to fill out an SR22 Auto Insurance Quote Form.

Alcohol Related Suspensions

Why is my license suspended?

1) A blood or breath test refusal or failure. If a person refuses or fails a blood or breath test following an arrest for driving while intoxicated, the person may receive a license suspension of 90 days up to 2 years. If the driver holds a Commercial Driver License, a breath test refusal or failure will result in an automatic one year disqualification. (Access the Administrative License Revocation) Texas Transportation Code Chapter 524, Texas Transportation Code Chapter 724, 37 Texas Administrative Code 17.7.

Reinstatement requirements

  • A reinstatement fee will be required prior to the renewal/issuance of a driver license.

2) A conviction for driving while intoxicated (DWI). The license suspension period varies by court order not to exceed two years. A conviction for driving while intoxicated under the age of 21 will result in an automatic suspension for one year. Texas Transportation Code 521.344.

NOTE: It is possible to receive a suspension for a DWI conviction AND a suspension for a blood/breath test refusal/failure arising from the same arrest.

Reinstatement requirements

  • A reinstatement fee will be required prior to the renewal/issuance of a driver license.
  • Obtain proof of insurance (form SR-22) from your insurance company and submit to the Texas Dept. of Public Safety (DPS). The SR-22 is required for two years from date of conviction.
  • If a Repeat Offender's DWI education program has been required by the convicting court, certificate of completion must be forwarded to DPS prior to the expiration of the suspension to prevent an additional revocation period.
  • Call toll free 866-466-1699 Now or Click Here to fill out an SR22 Auto Insurance Quote Form.

3) Alcohol related offenses by a Minor. Persons under 21 years of age who are convicted of the following offenses will receive a 30 day license suspension for the first offense, 60 days for a second offense, and 180 days for a third offense. Alcohol Beverage Code 106.071.

  • Purchase of alcohol by a minor
  • Attempt to purchase alcohol by a minor
  • Consumption of alcohol by a minor
  • Possession of alcohol by a minor
  • Misrepresentation of age by a minor
  • Public Intoxication by a minor

There are no reinstatement requirements for these alcohol related suspensions.


Drug Offenses

Why is my license suspended?

1) A conviction for a drug offense. A person's license is automatically suspended upon final conviction of a drug offense (which does NOT have to occur while operating a motor vehicle). The suspension period is 180 days. In addition, a drug education program is automatically required and must be completed within the 180-day suspension period or the license remains suspended until such time as a certificate of completion is received by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS). Texas Transportation Code 521.372.

NOTE: A person who does not hold a Texas driver license at the time of conviction will be prohibited from obtaining a Texas driver license for a period of 180 days. The prohibition period will not begin until the person makes contact with DPS for the issuance of a driver license or for reinstatement of driving privileges for non-residents. Texas Transportation Code 521.372 .

Reinstatement requirements


Out-of-State Offenses

Why is my license suspended?

1) Suspended driving privilege in another state/jurisdiction. A person who has a suspended driving status in another state is not eligible for the issuance of a Texas license. If an adverse driving status appears in another state after the issuance of a Texas license, the Texas license is subject to cancellation. Texas Transportation Code 521.201, 37 Texas Administrative Code 15.87 (2).

Reinstatement requirements

To prevent or lift cancellation of a Texas license due to an adverse driving status in another state, the driver must obtain a clear status from that state's respective driver licensing agency. Upon confirmation of the clear status from the out-of-state licensing agency, contact must be made with Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) Headquarters at 512-424-2600 in order for the clearance/compliance to be applied to the Texas driver record.

For this type of cancellation, documents submitted to DPS from an out-of-state COURT are NOT acceptable as proof of compliance. Compliance must originate from that state's driver licensing agency.

2) An unpaid traffic citation in another state. The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) may revoke a person's license if the person has not complied with the terms of a traffic citation received in another state. Texas Transportation Code 521.294, 37 Texas Administrative Code 15.82.

Reinstatement requirements

  • Proof of payment for the out of state citation must be submitted to DPS. Proof of payment includes receipt from court, copy of money order or cashiers check, or copy of cancelled check (front and back).
  • Upon revocation, a reinstatement fee will be required prior to the renewal/issuance of a driver license.

3) Out-of-State Offense. The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) may suspend a person's license upon receipt of a notice of conviction of an offense committed in another state that, if committed in this state, would be grounds for suspension. Texas Transportation Code 521.306, 37 Texas Administrative Code 15.82.

Reinstatement requirements

A reinstatement fee will be required prior to the renewal/issuance of a driver license.


Traffic Violations

Why is my license suspended?

1) Habitual traffic violations. A person who receives four (4) or more moving violations in a period of 12 months, or seven (7) or more moving violations in a period of 24 months, is subject to having their license suspended. A provisional driver (under 18 years of age) who receives two (2) or less than four (4) moving violations in a period of 12 months, is subject to having their license suspended. Texas Transportation Code 521.292 , 37 Texas Administrative Code 15.82.

Reinstatement requirements

A reinstatement fee will be required prior to the renewal/issuance of a driver license.

2) Driving while license suspended/invalid.  A person who is operating a motor vehicle while their license is under suspension, revocation, or cancellation is subject to an additional license suspension for the same period of time as the original suspension. Texas Transportation Code 521.292 , 521.457, 521.343, 37 Texas Administrative Code 15.82.

Reinstatement requirements

3) Violation of a driver license restriction. A person who has been convicted of two or more violations of a driver license restriction/endorsement is subject to license suspension. Texas Transportation Code 521.292, 37 Texas Administrative Code 15.82.

Reinstatement requirements

A reinstatement fee will be required prior to the renewal/issuance of a driver license.


Insurance Requirements

Why is my license suspended?

1) Second or subsequent ticket for no liability insurance. If a person is convicted of a second offense for no-liability insurance, the person is subject to license suspension. Texas Transportation Code 601.231, 37 Texas Administrative Code 25.19.

Reinstatement requirements.

  • A reinstatement fee will be required prior to the renewal/issuance of a driver license.
  • Obtain proof of insurance (form SR-22) from your insurance company and submit to the Texas Dept. of Public Safety (DPS). The SR-22 is required for two years from date of conviction.

2) Cancelled Insurance. When the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) receives notice that a person has cancelled their insurance while the requirement to maintain proof of insurance with DPS is still in effect, the driver is subject to suspension. Proof of insurance (form SR-22) must be maintained for two years from date of conviction. Texas Transportation Code 601.056 , 601.057, 37 Texas Administrative Code 25.6.

Reinstatement requirements.

3) What are the minimum liability coverage amounts in Texas? Current minimum liability coverage amounts are: $20,000 for bodily injury to or death of one person in one accident; $40,000 for bodily injury to or death of two or more persons in one accident; $15,000 for damage to or destruction of property of others in one accident. SB 502 which passed into law 09-01-07 authorizes the minimum coverages to increase to $30,000/$60,000/$25,000 effective 01-01-2011.

SR-22 Information

1) What is an SR-22 and how can I obtain an SR-22?

An SR-22 insurance policy is a certificate of insurance that shows the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) proof of insurance for the future, as required by law. SR-22 insurance is not necessarily "high risk" insurance. It is motor vehicle liability insurance which requires the insurance company to certify coverage to DPS, and the insurance company must notify DPS anytime the policy is cancelled, terminated or lapses. Please contact an insurance agent/company of your choice who is authorized to write liability insurance for the State of Texas.

2) If I do not own a car, how can an SR-22 be obtained?

You do not need to own a car to buy this kind of insurance. If you do not own a car, please contact an insurance agent/company of your choice and talk to them about a non-owner SR-22.

3) Can an insurance card or insurance policy be accepted toward the requirement of filing the SR-22?

No, when proof of financial responsibility is required, form SR-22 must be filed to meet the compliance requirements.

4) How long is proof of financial responsibility (SR-22) required in crash, conviction or judgment cases?

The SR-22 is required for 2 years from the date of crash, date of conviction or date the judgment was rendered. Texas Transportation Code 601.056.

5) What happens if my SR-22 is cancelled?

Once the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) receives notification from the insurance company that the policy is cancelled, terminated, or lapses appropriate enforcement action may be taken. If the SR-22 is still required and there is not a valid SR-22 on file, the driving privilege and vehicle registration is suspended.


Crash Suspension

Why is my license suspended?

1) Uninsured Crash. When the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) receives notice that a person has been involved in a crash that occurred on a public street or highway, which resulted in injury, death or property damages of at least $1,000.00, the uninsured driver is subject to license suspension. Texas Transportation Code 601.152 , 37 Texas Administrative Code 25.3.

Reinstatement requirements

  • Comply using one of the following methods:

    Provide evidence of liability insurance at the time of the crash; or

    Pay all damaged parties and secure a full and final release (form SR-11) from liability of judgment; or

    File a properly executed installment agreement (SR-19) (If DPS receives notice that a driver has defaulted on the installment agreement the license is subject to suspension); or

    File security deposit with the State along with an SR-22 and SR-22a form.

  • If a suspension has been enforced, a reinstatement fee will be required prior to the renewal/issuance of a driver license.

Note: If after 2 years from the date of the crash there are no civil suits pending or unpaid judgments, application may be made for reinstatement by filing form SR-60 and paying the reinstatement fee.

2) Liability Judgment. When the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) receives a certified copy of an unsatisfied judgment arising out of a traffic crash that occurred on a public street or highway, the person(s) who the judgment is rendered against is subject to suspension. Texas Transportation Code 601.332, 37 Texas Administrative Code 25.03.

Reinstatement requirements

  • Comply using one of the following methods:

    Provide evidence that the judgment has been satisfied in the form of a Release (form SR-11); or

    Court Approved Installment Agreement (If DPS receives notice that a driver has defaulted on the court approved installment agreement, the license is subject to suspension); or

    Judgment Creditor’s Consent Form (SR-84). And submit an SR-22 certificate of insurance if within 2 years from the date the judgment was rendered.

    If a suspension has been enforced, a reinstatement fee will be required prior to the renewal/issuance of a driver license.

Note: If the judgment is over 10 years old you may file a certificate from the court in which the judgment was rendered that a judgment has not been renewed. Submit the required reinstatement fee.

3) What documents must be submitted to the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) to process an unsatisfied judgment?

  • Certified copy of the judgment. (Cannot process unless at least 60 days have elapsed since the date judgment was signed.)
  • Notice of Unsatisfied Judgment. (Form SR-62)
  • Transcript of Civil Proceedings. (Form SR-42) OR Certificate of no appeal.
  • Crash Report (if available) or Driver's Crash Report "Blue Form" which may be obtained through the Texas Department of Transportation.

Commercial Motor Vehicle Disqualifications

Why is my license disqualified?

1) Serious traffic violations. A commercial driver license holder who receives two serious traffic violations in a period of three (3) years is subject to disqualification of commercial driving privileges for a period of 60 days. A person who receives 3 serious traffic violations in a period of three (3) years is subject to disqualification of commercial driving privileges for a period of 120 days. A serious traffic violation is a conviction occurring when driving any motor vehicle. Texas Transportation Code 522.081, 37 Texas Administrative Code 15.82, 37 Texas Administrative Code 16.93.

Serious Traffic Violations are:

  • Speeding 15mph or more or more above the posted speed limit
  • Reckless driving
  • Improper or erratic traffic lane change
  • Following too closely
  • Any traffic violation in connection with a fatal crash (As of 9-1-01)
  • No Driver License
  • Unlawful display/possession of Driver License
  • Fail to display Driver License
  • No Commercial operator license
  • Expired Commercial operator license
  • More then 1 DL in possession - Commercial Motor Vehicle
  • Domiciled over 30 days - (CDL Operator who has resided in Texas more than 30 days and has not obtained a Texas CDL)

There are no reinstatement requirements for serious traffic violation disqualifications.

Note: CDL holders are not eligible to take the driver safety course (DDC).


Delinquent Child Support Revocation

Why is my license revoked?

1) Delinquent Child Support. Upon receipt of an order from the Attorney General's office or a District Court, the driver license will be revoked.

Reinstatement requirements

The revocation remains in effect until DPS receives an order from the Attorney General's office or a District Court authorizing reinstatement. Texas Family Code 232.011.


Medical Revocation

1) What is the Medical Advisory Board?

A panel of physicians that are appointed by the Texas Department of State Health Services governs the Medical Advisory Board (MAB). A physician from the panel convenes to review possible medical conditions as they relate to the driving ability of reported Texas drivers. The physician reviews medical documentation submitted by the subject's personal doctor regarding the condition in question.

The Department of Public Safety acts in accordance with the medical findings of the Medical Advisory Board by enforcing the decisions of medically incapable or medically approved to drive. A person who is found medically incapable of safely operating a motor vehicle is subject to license revocation. TRC 521.294 (1)

A Texas driver may be reported to the Medical Advisory Board by physicians, family, friends, acquaintances, driver license field personnel, anonymously or by admission of a possible health condition that may interfere with the safe operation of a motor vehicle upon application or renewal for a Texas driver license. Family, friends and anonymous reports will be investigated by field personnel first. These reports may be kept confidential, unless the subject requests the document through an open records request. All records are subject to becoming open records if the person requests an administrative hearing.

If you wish to report a possible medical condition of a Texas driver, you must be able to identify the Texas driver with full name and date of birth or Texas driver license number. Please send your written concern to the Texas Department of Public Safety, PO Box 4087, Austin, TX 78773-0320, Attention: Driver Improvement and Compliance Bureau. Note: Verbal notification is not sufficient information for the Department to take action.

In fiscal year 2005, the Medical Advisory Board acted on 8,433 cases that had been referred by the Department. Of that number 3,840 licenses were denied or revoked and 911 people were required to submit to a driving test.

Reinstatement requirements

The following revocation actions all require the payment of the reinstatement fees prior to the renewal/issuance of a driver license.  The filing of an SR-22 is not required for these revocations. An occupational license may not be obtained for medical revocations.

  • Revoked Incapable - To reinstate the license, the driver must be medically approved by the Medical Advisory Board.
  • Revoked MAB No-Reply - To reinstate the license, the driver must submit current medical information to the Medical Advisory Board.
  • Revoked Test Required - To reinstate the license, the driver must pass a comprehensive exam.

2) How do I report an unsafe driver?

If you wish to report a Texas driver with a possible medical condition that may affect the ability to safely operate the vehicle, you must be able to identify the driver with full name and date of birth or Texas Driver License number.

Please report an unsafe driver by using one of the following methods:

  • Send your written concern to:

    Texas Department of Public Safety
    Driver Improvement and Compliance Bureau
    P.O. Box 4087
    Austin TX 78773-0320

  • Fax your written concern to (512) 424-2501; or
  • Report unsafe drivers to a Texas Driver License office by providing the same information.

Note: Verbal notification is not sufficient information for the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) to take action.


Ignition Interlock Information

1) What is an ignition interlock device?

An ignition interlock device is a breath alcohol analyzer that is connected to a motor vehicle ignition. In order to start the motor vehicle engine, a driver must blow a breath sample into the analyzer which measures alcohol concentration. If the alcohol concentration exceeds the startup set point on the interlock device, the motor vehicle engine will not start. 37 Texas Administrative Code 19.21.

When the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) receives a court order restricting a person to the operation of a motor vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock device, the person's driver license is cancelled. The cancellation takes effect on the 30th day from the date that the DPS sends notice to the subject. Click here to access Restricted Interlock License information. Texas Transportation Code 521.2465.

Reinstatement requirements

To lift cancellation DPS must receive an order from the court removing the restriction.


Suspension Notification

1) Why wasn't I notified of my license suspension?

All notices and orders regarding license suspension actions are mailed to the address on record with the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS). It is extremely important for a person to keep their driver license mailing address updated with DPS. Per Texas Transportation Code 521.054, an address change must be submitted to the Department within 30 days of moving. You may obtain a Change of Address Form DL-64. A change of address card submitted to the post office does not change the address on a driver license.

Reinstatement Address

  • Reinstatement items with fees required should be mailed to:

    Texas Department of Public Safety
    Central Cash Receiving
    P.O. Box 15999
    Austin TX 78761-5999

    Cashier's check or money order only, do not send cash.

    Make cashier's check payable to TX DPS.

    Please include full name, date of birth and driver license number if known.

  • Reinstatement items without fees required should be mailed to:

    Texas Department of Public Safety
    Driver Improvement and Compliance Bureau
    P.O. Box 4087
    Austin TX 78773-0001

    Please include full name, date of birth and driver license number if known.

Call toll free 866-466-1699 Now or Click Here to fill out an SR22 Auto Insurance Quote Form.
Posted 1:56 PM  View Comments

Share |


No Comments


Post a Comment
Name
Required
E-Mail
Required (Not Displayed)
Comment
Required


All comments are moderated and stripped of HTML.
Submission Validation
Required
CAPTCHA
Change the CAPTCHA codeSpeak the CAPTCHA code
 
Enter the Validation Code from above.
NOTICE: This blog and website are made available by the publisher for educational and informational purposes only. It is not be used as a substitute for competent insurance, legal, or tax advice from a licensed professional in your state. By using this blog site you understand that there is no broker client relationship between you and the blog and website publisher.







Flo Explains Snapshot
Click Here for Online Application Click Here to Enter Click Here to Enter

Insurance Plus Site Footer

About Us Link Contact Us Link Employment Link Locations Link Press Room Link Insurance Plus Blog